Three German Olympic champions head FIFA best woman shortlist

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

A trio of Olympic champions from Germany leads the 10-strong shortlist for the 2016 FIFA best women’s player award released by football’s governing body on Thursday.

Bayern Munich players Melanie Behringer and Sara Daebritz, as well as Dzenifer Marozsan, now at Champions League winners Olympique Lyon of France, were on the German team that beat Sweden 2-1 on August 19 in the gold medal match at Rio’s Maracana.

Sweden’s Lotta Schelin (Olympique Lyon/Rosengard); 2015 award winner Carli Lloyd of the US (Houston Dash); France’s Camille Abily (Olympique Lyon) and Amandine Henry (Portland Thorns); Saki Kumagai of Japan (Olympique Lyon); Canada’s Christine Sinclair (Portland Thorns); and five-time award winner Marta of Brazil (Rosengard) complete the shortlist.

Now separated from the Ballon d’Or, the FIFA award winners will be chosen through a combined voting process based on the choices of national team captains and coaches, an online public ballot and media votes.

The final three-woman shortlist is named December 2 with the winner announced at the FIFA Football Awards show on January 9, 2017. GNA

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *